Clipping:Forgetting there is a courtesy runner, and running on the hit
Add a Clipping |
Date | Sunday, June 14, 1874 |
---|---|
Text | The last game lost by the Athletic to the Baltimore will be decided in favor of the former on the point raised by Manning's running for Snyder. The latter made a good hit and Manning, who had been selected as substitute for him, started for first, but Snyder, encouraged by the hit, ran himself, and passed Manning. The ball was fielded in, and as Manning had slacked up he was touched. The umpire decided it not out, but since then the rules have been shown him bearing on substitutes, and he says that had he known of such rules he would have decided Snyder out. The Baltimore club does not dispute this, and the umpire has signed a paper stating his mistake, and the facts will be laid before the judiciary committee, who will decide the two runs made on the hit as null and void, and give the game to the Athletic, or else order the game to be played over. |
Source | Philadelphia Sunday Republic |
Tags | |
Warning | |
Comment | Edit with form to add a comment |
Query | Edit with form to add a query |
Submitted by | Richard Hershberger |
Origin | Initial Hershberger Clippings |
Comments
<comments voting="Plus" />